Skip to content

We push Ice, It’s what we do

October 1, 2007

Pushing Ice Cover

I finish Pushing Ice the whole weekend and now I got a flu!

Alastair Reynolds presents the old sci-fi theme very nicely in this book. Living away from home, on an alien world, nearly the speed of light. A theme which is very similar to Clarke’s Rendezvous With Rama (more to Rama II actually), but with more characters. The most interesting thing I found is the idea of knowing our own ‘future’ after near light-speed travel (an effect of time relativity). Its like living forever!

To those who already read the book: The guy who ‘creates stuff’ is the only Chinese guy in the colony. Ha! Anyway, I was hoping to hear more about Chromis near the end of the book, I like her character (and her relationship with Bella). Despite that, I love the ending especially the last chapter.

From → Books

One Comment
  1. I like Reynolds quite a bit but I think he needs to lighten up a bit–he’s comparable to Iain M Banks in some ways but Banks’ books, at least his SF efforts, are always informed by humour, something I find lacking in Reynolds. It provides characters with some depth and prevents a book from becoming monotonic…

Leave a Reply

