Skip to content

2007 Year in Review, Books

December 31, 2007

One of my 2007 new year’s resolution is to read at least one book for each month. Unless I count comic-books, I have failed. In 2007 I am lucky enough to read…

Pushing Ice
by Alastair Reynolds.

Pushing Ice is my first Alastair Reynolds book and I have to say I am impressed. A very captivating read about the journey of man trying to do their best on an alien world. Despite its thematic similarity with Arthur C. Clarke’s Rama II, Reynolds is able to captivate you with various mind-challenging subjects.

Stardust
by Neil Gaiman.

I brought the book not long after I watched the movie. While both of them follows a the same ideas, the adaptation is different. The book itself is more geared to adult readers with a more realistic tone compared to the movie. Which one is better is purely based on personal opinion. For me, I prefer the book than the movie, but only by a little bit.

Name of The Rose
by Umberto Eco

A medieval detective story with a 14th century Italian monastery backdrop. I am sure it would interest anyone who loves reading about medieval Catholic history.

Software Testing: An ISEB Foundation
By Brian Hambling, Et Al.

A must read for anyone working to pass the ISEB/ISTQB Foundation exam.

50 Rahasia Mengelola Uang
by Elvyn G. Masassya

A compilation of 50 short personal/family finance articles by an Indonesian financial expert, Elvyn G. Masassya. I really think that the subject of personal finance should be thought in schools. It is a practical knowledge that are useful for everyone in their daily lives. Topics such as: how should one spend one’s monthly salary or what one should do to avoid debt are essential but are seldom taught.

Yes, a disappointing five out of twelve… comic-books don’t count. There are at least two books I look forward to read in 2008: Foucault’s Pendulum (Umberto Eco) and Revelation Space (Alastair Reynolds).

From → Books, Personal

2 Comments
  1. Thanks for the post

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 2007 Year in Review, Movies « solaris

Leave a Reply

