Skip to content

My Hidden Iceberg

January 13, 2008

I just saw an article at Inter-Sections about how to spot a good programmer when recruiting a person. I can see some of the positive indicators applicable on me, which is good :) An interesting indicator that is stated is “Hidden Experience”, personal projects that aren’t listed in the CV. Things that seems irrelevant but actually shows the passion of the person. It made me recall my personal programming history:

I started programming on my own, in my junior high school years, with an old Visual Basic 4 IDE. I made simple drag-and-drop GUI apps for windows. It wasn’t long before I started toying with the Windows API in VB, learning the old crude bit blit technique for simple animations :)

Then I realize that VB isn’t producing stand alone executables and for me, at that time, was not cool. I moved to the next step which is Borland Delphi. Believe me or not, I learned Delphi using primarily a Turbo Pascal text-book and the online help. Of course my previous knowledge of the Win32 API helps me lot. I was a Delphi fan boy. I love it so much until I forgot the VB syntax.

It was during my high school days I found NeHe Productions and learned the joy of OpenGL. I learned the basics of 3D programming on Windows. I fell in love with the standardization of the OpenGL API, how it wasn’t confined in Windows like Direct3D. I have to admit I didn’t produce anything solid with OpenGL. My favourite work with OpenGL was creating animated particle effects, because it was simple and eye-catching. Also from around that I started to touch the basics pointers and simple data structures.

Then I moved to College, Computer Science Major. That’s pretty much written on history my CV. I met with Java and C, yadda yadda. It was later when I took my double-degree at RMIT, something life changing happens. At that time I was already accustomed with the *nix CLI via Cygwin but haven’t had the courage to make the plunge to Linux-land yet. That was until Hoary Hedgehog came along and changed everything.

Last but not least, I met with Python as part of the Scripting Languages class. It was hard to not fall in love with Python, it’s clear syntax, simplicity, huge array of libraries, and the fact that it is used in Linux desktops pretty extensively. Now I do everything on Python, small scripting projects, desktop apps and web apps. Later I met with Django and it was the icing on the cake!

That’s a pretty long history and I haven’t even touch a bit on my passion on web standards, accessible web, XML and friends. Some other time perhaps.

One Comment
  1. That was just great solid basis… ;)
    But I still can’t understand your career vision. I mean, the area that you are strongly focusing on.
    Just like what you are going to be in next 1,5, 20 yrs..
    I suggest you to have such vision :)
    (Well, I didn’t say you haven’t any)

Leave a Reply

