Skip to content

12 Books!

May 4, 2008

Last week my total is nine books. I’ve read another three books this week and therefore with great joy I announce that I’ve completed my 12 books target this year! Here are the three I devour this week:

  1. 84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff
  2. Foundation by Isaac Asimov
  3. Last but not least, Marketing Yourself by Hermawan Kertajaya (in Indonesian).

Well I have to admit that the first and third book is exceptionally short. 84 Charing Cross Rd is only 94 pages, and most of the pages are not full. Marketing Yourself is a bit longer with 130 pages, but the book so small that it fits my jeans pocket and it is in Indonesian which is easier for me to read.

I brought 84 Charing Cross Road from Kinokniya with a 70% discount. It is a collection of letters spanning 20 years between Helene Hanff in New York and an the people of Marks & Co, an antiquarian bookshop in London. It is a very interesting read, since this is not really a novel but purely a set of personal letters. If you would like to have a copy, I think Kinokunia Plaza Senayan still has three or four copies (with a 70% off sticker of course).

Foundation is the first book in Asimov’s famous Foundation series. Despite its fame, that I don’t think I really like it. The concept of psycohistory itself interesting, but the short stories are too far apart that they don’t form a complete plot arc. Maybe I would need to finish the first trilogy have a complete sense of it.

Hermawan Kertajaya’s Marketing Yourself (in Indonesian) was given to me from my friend Haikal as a farewell gift (I resigned from my old office). I finished it in less than 2 hours, sitting in J.Co with a cup of Americano and Glazzy Donut (Morning Glory promo, only 10k IDR). It’s a very short book yet it’s full of knowledge. The items are very solid and coherent. Hermawan Kertajaya really has the skills of presenting his ideas in a simple and easy to digest way. A great read. Thank You Haikal!

PS. Along with 84 Charring Cross Rd, I got myself a copy of Carl Sagan‘s The Dragons of Eden with a 50% off sticker on it. Good Bargain!

From → Books

One Comment
  1. wow..you’ve finished 3 books for a week..good for you. I wish i can say the same for me. But oh…the books you’ve read are really short :D hehehehehe…

    I’ve not read foundation. I’ve read a couple of praises for that book and I also have it on my collection. I’m not planning on reading it though..maybe next yr or the yr after that.

Leave a Reply

