Skip to content

12/2008 Results

January 10, 2009

My 2008 new year’s resolution (which I posted in March) was to read 12 books during 2008. I ended up reading more than double of that. Here are all of them, in a more or less chronological order. The ones in bold are titles I highly recommend:

  1. Childhood’s End, Arthur C Clarke
  2. Robot Dreams, Isaac Asimov
  3. The Braided World, Key Kenyon
  4. The Songs of Distant Earth, Arthur C Clarke
  5. Lord of Light, Roger Zelazny
  6. Ender’s Game, Orson Scott Card
  7. Speaker for The Dead, Orson Scott Card
  8. Stranger in a Strange Land, Robert A. Heinlein
  9. The Gods Themselves, Isaac AsimovMy Review
  10. 84 Charing Cross Road, Helene Hanff
  11. Foundation, Isaac Asimov
  12. Marketing Yourself, Hermawan Kertajaya (in Indonesian).
  13. Dying of The Light, George R. R. Martin.
  14. The Dragons of Eden, Carl Sagan.
  15. Lord of The Flies, William Golding.
  16. Gateway, Frederik Pohl.
  17. Rant, Chuk Palahniuk.
  18. Slaughterhouse Five, Kurt Vonnegut.
  19. Ubik, Phillip K. Dick.
  20. Old Man’s War, John Scalzi.
  21. Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury.
  22. A Scanner Darkly, Phillip K. Dick.
  23. Against The Fall of Night, Arthur C Clarke.
  24. Passenger To Frankfurt (Indonesian ver), Agatha Christie.
  25. Martian Time-Slip, Philip K. Dick.
  26. The Children of Men, P.D. James.
  27. Yiddish Policemen’s Union, Michael Chabon.
  28. Broca’s Brain, Carl Sagan.
  29. The Ghost Brigades, John Scalzi.
  30. A Fire Upon The Deep, Vernor Vinge.

Yep, thirty! From all of them, the most memorable titles of 2008 are Stranger in a Strange Land and A Fire Upon The Deep. You definitely got to read them!

It was an amazing ride, reading all those interesting stories. What about my 2009 New Year’s resolution? That’s for another post ;)

Happy New Year.

From → Books, Personal

4 Comments
  1. Already mentioned Card’s books. Read Fahrenheit 451 and Lord of the Flies long ago. Great reads. Have yet to read Asimov or Zelazny, both of whom are on my list, as is Stranger in a Strange Land. Read George Martin’s the Way of Cross and Dragon short, which I liked enough to read more by him.

    Re: Resolutions post-
    All but 2 of the 29 books I completed in 2008 were sci-fi/fantasy. The 10 books I read in 2007 were more scattered. This year, I’d like to read from more genres. More resolutions here. Any particular non-fiction subjects on your list? Since we mentioned philosophy, I recommend Shapeshifting by John Perkins and Robert Wolff’s Original Wisdom- Stories of an Ancient Way of Knowing, which were also suggested to me. They were beautiful non-boring reads that I had to force myself to slow down with.

  2. If you want to read Zelazny, Lord of Light is interesting. It has interesting Hindu/Buddhist themes. The writing style is similar to historical epics.

    For the non-fiction reads, I have economics, history and religion in mind. Philosophy might also be interesting. The Lexus and the Olive Tree, Godel Escher Bach (GEB) are currently the two I have in mind.

  3. Thanks to a friend whose recommendations have always been like a lot Zelazny’s Changeling has been in the queue. Another friend just recommended Lord of Light to me as well and I’ll be adding it to my List.

    Yesterday, I had my wires a bit crossed. Though we didn’t talk about philosophy, I still recommend the books on Shamanism. If you haven’t already, Tao Te Ching is a beautiful and poetic read.

    I’m spiritual, not religious but like reading about religions. I like knowing why people believe what they do and how they came to that point, which is one reason I’m reading the Bible.

    I’ll pass on economics, but history is fine. Also on the List is None is Too Many. When asked how many Jews would be let into Canada during WWII, the title was the response.

  4. You read Dying of the Light? I’ve heard it’s gotten some nice reviews. Did you like it this book? Out the excellent list of books, which one was your favorite?

    Have a great day,
    KnowledgeNut

    Pre order A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin

Leave a Reply

