Skip to content

Ubuntu 10.04: On Intel Driver and Server Frame Buffer

May 1, 2010

Desktop Edition

I have to say my experience with the new Ubuntu 10.04, Lucid Lynx is not smooth sailing. My number one issue is that desktop effects won’t run. Annoying, since 9.10 runs it just fine. Apparently the Intel video driver is blacklisted due to “instabilities”. Running without desktop effects is simply unacceptable.

Fortunately there is a “solution” (read: workaround). I need to install the latest version of xserver-xorg-video-intel. Grab the package from this PPA: ppa:glasen/intel-driver. Be aware that this driver is not a stable version. I had some minor issues with it. Occasionally the screen would flickr. Less often the X-Server would crash, kicking me back to the GDM login. Use it with your own risk.

Desktop Effects

Oh by the way the expose scale plugin is now enabled by default. To activate them use these shortcuts:

  • Super+W to scale all windows on the current desktop
  • Super+A to scale all windows on all virtual desktops

Sweet! But I wish they could behave like Gnome Shell. That one is awesome, unfortunately I’m not yet ready to plunge into it right now.

Server Edition

I’m very disappointed to see that the server edition console is unbearably slow under VirtualBox. Again, this is not the case with 9.10 server. To work around this issue, you need to disable the frame buffer module:

edit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-framebuffer.conf and add the following line:

blacklist vga16fb

Reboot and the console should be fine.

17 Comments
  1. Gipnokote permalink

    Thank you! It was very useful :))

  2. wwv permalink

    Thanks for the hint – frame buffer issue fixed! :-)

  3. Paul permalink

    I had been beating my head against a wall for weeks about this problem. Thanks to you it’s fixed! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!

  4. Rudy permalink

    It didn’t work with me. What can I do?

  5. @Rudy: What didn’t work for you?

  6. thanks for ur articles

  7. Thank you so much!!! Blacklisting vga16fb totally worked for me using Hyper-V. It was taking hours just trying to get anywhere with it being so slow. This fix saved the day! Thank you again.

  8. Yay, ridiculously slow refresh rate under VirtualBox console fixed! Thanks!

  9. Superb, what a webpage it is! This webpage gives useful data
    to us, keep it up.

  10. What’s up, this weekend is good in favor of me, as this moment i am reading this impressive informative paragraph here at my home.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Ubuntu 10.04 guest in Virtualbox: fixing slow screen refreshes. | Ben Chapman
  2. Everything Is Crap » Blog Archiv » Fixed slow Ubuntu in Hyper-V
  3. Everything Is Crap » Blog Archiv » Fixed slow Ubuntu in Hyper-V
  4. Ubuntu 10.04 Server on Hyper-V Server R2 has sluggish install and command line
  5. Ubuntu 10.04 Server on Hyper-V Server R2 has sluggish install and command line - Just just easy answers
  6. Как отключить модуль vga16fb во время настройки Ubu

Leave a comment